Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Yuvraj makes fine return but India loses by 1 run

Yuvraj makes fine return but India loses by 1 run

Clean Media Correspondent

Chennai, Sept 11 (CMC) India ended their 20 overs with 166-4 and thus lost the match against New Zealand by one run in the second Twenty20 International in Chennai on Tuesday. MS Dhoni (22) and Rohi Sharma (4) were on the crease at the end.  Yuvraj Singh was the last man to go on 34 runs. Earlier Virat Kohli played a brilliant innings of 70 runs. 

Earlier, Brendon McCullum smashed his way to a 55-ball 91 as New Zealand recovered from a jittery start to post a respectable 167 for five against India in the second Twenty20 International in Chennai on Tuesday.
New Zealand's finest T20 batsman McCullum took Indian bowlers to cleaners after the 'Black Caps' were reduced 2/2 with both openers back in the hut.

McCullum hit as many as 11 boundaries and three huge sixes including a couple off Ravichandran Ashwin.

The foundation of the New Zealand innings was 90-run third wicket partnership between McCullum and Kane Williamson, who contributed 28. More than the runs he scored, Williamson gave McCullum freedom to play his natural and aggressive game which has made the latter a big hit in the shortest format.

Irfan Pathan was most successful Indian bowler with figures of three for 31 including the prize scalp of McCullum, who was looking good for his second T20 International century.

Pathan foxed him with slower delivery that he failed to connect and it hit the stumps after brushing his pads.

Earlier, put into bat, New Zealand started on a disastrous note as they lost both their openers Rob Nicol and Martin Guptill within the first two overs.

Nicol was bowled off the last delivery of the first over from Zaheer Khan as he shuffled across towards off-stump only to miss a fuller delivery that pegged his leg stump back. He couldn't open his account.

Irfan Pathan also delivered in his very first over as his trademark inswinger saw Guptill being castled after playing to a wrong line after scoring only one.

McCullum and Williamson then started the repair work. After carefully negotiating the opening bowlers for a couple of overs, McCullum chanced his arms as he first hit Zaheer over square leg and then flashed hard through point region to get a couple of boundaries. 

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Gautam Gambhir, Ravichandran Ashwin, Laxmipathi Balaji, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Irfan Pathan, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary and Yuvraj Singh.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (C), Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori, James Franklin, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne and Ronnie Hira.

1 comment: