Saturday, 4 February 2012

Repolling begins in Manipur
Repolling begins in Manipur
Repolling begins in Manipur
Clean Media Correspondent

Imphal, Feb 04 (CMC): Repolling at 34 polling stations in Manipur's hill districts began on Saturday morning amidst tight security deployment in view of threats from insurgent organisations. 
Extra security measures were taken as the government had received reports that militants particularly belonging to National Socialist Council of Nagaland (I-M) were roaming around the polling stations. 
Officials said repolling began at all the 34 polling stations spread across Ukhrul, Senapati, Tamenglong, Chandel and Churachandpur from 7 AM and it would end at 3 PM. 
Repoll was necessary because there was disruption by militants and irregularities during the elections of Manipur assembly on January 28. 
Sources said unlike in the past there would be three or four layers of security deployment during the repoll today because intelligence office said there were movement of ultras around the polling stations - all in interior hills - to prevent any untoward incident. 
Election office said counting of votes would be taken on March 6. 
The prominent candidates in this elections in the valley districts are Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh (Thoubal), senior congress leader and forest minister Th Debendra Singh (Jiribam), senior congress leader and well-known advocate, Laishram Nanda Kumar (Uripok), food and civil supply minister and senior Congress leader Yumkham Erabot (Wangkhei). 
Besides, Manipur People's Party (MPP) president Nimachiand Luwang (Wangkhem), senior MPP leader and former deputy chief minister L Chandramani (Patsoi), NCP chief and former Manipur chief minister Radhabinod Koijam (Thangmeiband) are also contesting. 

No comments:

Post a Comment